Professional Sins: Facebooking Your Problems

image

I’m proud to say that I was the inspiration for this post

This is a throwback that I came across the other day and it prompted me to write this brief post.

Being a full disclosure kind of girl, I’ll give you some background:  The guy who posted this was new to the company, insecure about his abilities to compete with an established salesrep, and focused on the wrong things.  I pegged him as being out of his element– trying to turn a full time outside sales rep into a grounded inside salesrep can be like managing an undiagnosed ADHD child, and he showed it.  Ultimately, I left after doing everything I wanted to in that role, he received a small portion of the pie I left behind, failed miserably in multiple ways and is no longer with the company.

The purpose of this post isn’t to snark about a “legend in his own mind”, it’s to focus on something that we all have done: FACEBOOKING OUR PROBLEMS.  I’m a firm believer in using social media for professional discourse and self promotion, unfortunately the lines can easily be confused by emotion.

Lest I toot my own horn erroneously, I have committed this sin myself.  Thankfully, I was smart enough to have a facebook page with airtight privacy settings and no professional friends–that weren’t trustworthy, although now if I work with you I don’t friend you at all.   After realizing that there were other ways to “vent”, because who doesn’t, I moved on to discussing pertinent issues with my mentors, blogging about it in a less direct manner, or deciding that it was worth moving past without mention.

There have been numerous instances of individuals being fired for facebooking their problems, something I don’t agree with.  Call me a hard line liberal (I’m not) but anyone who’s had a bad day at work and wants to opine about it via Facebook shouldn’t be fired, however, as a professional you should be careful of the risks you take.

Putting your emotional rant out to the masses, even if you believe you’re among friends, can create pains more harmful than firing.  You risk tainting your professional reputation and could become less trusted by your peers.  You may keep your job but who wants to promote someone that can’t control their emotions and obviously your ability to make smart decisions could be called into question.  That’s just a few of the potential issues with social media venting.

This post doesn’t need more than 500 words (421 and counting ).  A digital footprint is impossible to erase because it’s virtually written in pen, think twice before you post.

One thought on “Professional Sins: Facebooking Your Problems

  1. Pingback: Post Gathering #18 - Glynis J.

Leave a Reply

