Starbucks IV Drip

wpid-20130227_084348.jpg

I’m sure the title of this caught your attention, but this isn’t profound, it’s simply the musings of a tired but highly caffeinated mind, after a late night of blogging (I have 21 drafts and edits but no posts–seriously).

I woke up in my usual fast forward mode but the only thing to sustain it for the next few hours is my DIRTY CHAI!  Don’t judge, I told you this post wouldn’t compete against the Pope’s resignation but it’s relevant to me and might help you.  Why so serious people?

For those who aren’t purists, this is my suggestion.   Chai has more caffeine than coffee, 47 mg in 8 oz, you do the math on a venti cup.    A  creamy blend of black tea and Indian herbs and spices (at least that’s the Wiki definition), it can be ordered hot or cold and pairs well with most syrups and flavorings.  Want it extra spicy?  Increase the Chai.  Like it sweet? Add Coconut syrup during the summer.  Prefer a smoky flavor similar to a bold coffee? Combine it with Hazelnut flavoring.

My favorite on a day after 2 hours of sleep…Dirty Chai.  This mornings beverage was Iced Venti Vanilla Spice Caramel Dirty Chai–yes, I’m one of those women with an order that annoys the old man who only came in for a black cup of coffee.    The Dirty portion of the Chai is a shot of espresso, that’s right an additional 77 mg of caffeine.  I ordered the sugar-free Caramel syrup so that you don’t get the jittery sugar high on top of it all.

Not a Starbucks enthusiast?  Make a cup of Chai at home by using their concentrate: tazo

Note: I’m not advocating an unhealthy lifestyle but I’m leaving the health blogging to my counterparts with that particular passion.

2 thoughts on “Starbucks IV Drip

    • Thanks for the warning, so far so good but it’s worth paying attention to.

      As for the sweetness I go with more pumps of chai because I pick up the spicy notes more but I’ve heard other people comment on the sweet aspects. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

