The Mad Journey #1: I Now Understand that People Leave People Not Companies (Pt.1)

I quit

Resigning isn’t an easy thing to do when you like your job.  While salespeople are often though of as easily bought for a dollar, it’s not true.  When you’ve built a strong book of business that recurs, have contacts and relationships in your industry and know that you have reliable commission coming your way because you’ve done the heavy lifting, walking away to something less “sure” is a tough thing to do.  Trust me, I did it!

I walked away from being the top dog.  You don’t go into sales without wanting to be number one or you can’t last, so giving it up when you get there is uncomfortable.  I left, certain only that I was going to have to develop a new book of business in a nearly 100% cold prospecting environment and work without the benefit of immediate commission on a longer sales cycle.  I had a Tina Turner moment, you can keep the money and the territory but I’m walking away with my name!  Crazy? Only if you don’t believe in yourself.

Before leaving I spent time reviewing the why’s, how’s and where’s of it all.  Sales is my career, it’s not a job so I had to be smart.  I reached out to experienced mentors whose opinions I trusted and I weighed their advice.  My long-term plan is to move into the realm of sales consultation and run a major firm but being fully self-employed at this time in my life doesn’t make sense so change had to be good for my current lifestyle and support my future mission.

Needless to say, I did what I needed to do and walked away knowing that I wasn’t running from something but to opportunity.  At least that’s how I kept it initially.  Notice that above I didn’t mention the word “who” in any of my review on why I was leaving.  At the time, it was relevant, not powerful, so I kept it out of my decision making  process.  Today, it’s relevant AND powerful.

Who you leave behind at a job is significant, yet often ignored.  I left a role that I was passionate about because I didn’t trust management with my career.  It had been clearly and repeatedly demonstrated to me that development, encouragement, stimulus and growth were at the bottom of the list of priorities for the people who wanted to be attached to my success.  What I could do for them was paramount.  This could be said for any company in a capitalistic society.  I’m sure some of you are reading and saying, “What’s she complaining about if she was getting paid?”  That could be seen as a reasonable response, if you weren’t speaking to a responsible career woman.   Let’s assume for the sake of this piece that you are.

Every day corporate executives renegotiate their salaries or leave companies to pursue the opportunities that allow them to expand their knowledge base and further their careers as well as make more money while salespeople or support team employees that do the same are thought of as money hungry, disloyal and sometimes irresponsible.

I view myself as the CEO of my career.  My office space within the company is my “practice” and my role is a “contractor”, even if I am   The terminology keeps me on task and helps me to treat my job like a small business so that I focus on driving my success and avoid the pitfalls of being an employee.  I worked for someone who underestimated the importance of this behavior and disregarded the value that I place on my responsibility within a company as mere egotism.

This particular manager, we’ll call him Marshall, had a poor perspective of salespeople.  His best idea was that we all should be non-commissioned, clock punchers and treated like telemarketers (while he purported to understand sales).  Overpaid divas with over inflated expectations, that’s what we were.  To the company’s credit they understood that you couldn’t remove commission structure from current salespeople but I’m sure that any hiring in the future by this “manager” would be under a bonus structure rather than a commission plan.  By nature Marshall was a tactical number cruncher yearning to be a strategic visionary so, of course, true creatives—a  natural trait of successful salespeople–were in his mind “Un’s”….unstructured, unruly and unproductive unless they kept their heads down all day and functioned like robo-dialers.

Long story short, I left him.  Spending months observing Marshall and his behaviors were enough to confirm that people do leave people. I broke this post into two parts to give you time to grab a drink, Marshall’s an interesting character, you’ll need one.

Leave a Reply

