What I’m Loving Now: Social Media Edition

What am I loving now? Hootsuite! And not just the cute little guy on the logo.

hootsuite

I’m not one of those people who pretends to be too busy or too cool for social media.  Besides being a blogger (I currently have 3 very different active blogs), I enjoy personal media communications.  My current usage includes 2 facebook accounts (personal and professional), 3 twitter accounts-downsizing to two, a well maintained Linkedin account, tumblr, instagram, and Google+.

I have no doubt that someone is reading and scornfully shaking his head, viewing it as a waste of time–most likely my teenage son.  Because I use 4 of the 5 mediums as professional tools and have certain objectives, giving them up is not an option for me at this time, however, I knew that having them would be irrelevant if I wasn’t consistent in my usage.

This is why I decided to explore another social media adventure, at the risk of hyper-stimulation.  Hootsuite is a social media management platform designed primarily for businesses and organizations.  For me it’s a brand management tool for my sales personality.  It allows you to launch campaigns, creating an audience and targeting messaging.  While companies may access the pro tool to manage a large number of accounts on different platforms, it allows me a streamlined overview and feeds to five accounts with their free platform.

The quick basics:  Link your accounts from up to 5 platforms and set up “streams”, which you allow you to track people, keywords, phrases and activity.  Of course there’s more to it but I did say “quick basics”.  Wanna learn more? Sign up at http://www.hootsuite.com and watch the university videos.

I’m no pro but based on my initial usage, it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

